Life of the Mind

Life of The Mind Logo
Life of the Mind is a semi-annual lecture series that features a distinguished UC faculty member presenting his or her work and expertise. A panel of three will respond to and discuss the lecture from diverse perspectives, and a moderator will encourage audience engagement. The series includes intriguing insights from diverse perspectives, and encourages faculty and students from across UC to engage in further discourse.
Sponsored by the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost, and organized by the University of Cincinnati Libraries and Faculty Senate, the mission of Life of the Mind is to celebrate UC faculty research, scholarship and creative output and to foster the free and open exchange of ideas and discourse.

Life of the Mind Steering Committee consists of:

  • Xuemao Wang, co-chair
  • Cynthia Ris, co-chai
  • Caleb Adler
  • Jenny Doctor
  • Yonatan Eyal
  • Helene Harte
  • Jenny Mackiewicz (ex-officio)
  • Melissa Cox Norris (ex-officio)
  • Michael Sharp
Stephen Meyer

March 6, 2019 

Stephen Meyer, professor of musicology in the College-Conservatory of Music, "Beyond Decanonization: The Future of Humanities in the Neoliberal University.”

A panel of four UC faculty members responded to and discussed the lecture from diverse perspectives. 

  • Alberto Espay, professor of neurology, College of Medicine
  • James Mack, professor of chemistry, College of Arts and Sciences, associate dean, The Graduate School
  • Tamika Odum, assistant professor, behavioral sciences, UC Blue Ash College
  • Rebecca Williamson, associate professor, architecture and interior design, College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning


Previous Lectures

October 30, 2018 

Sarah Stitzlein, professor of education and affiliate faculty in philosophy.  

Life of the Mind, interdisciplinary conversations with UC faculty, “What’s Next for America? Teaching Hope and Reviving Democracy.”


  • Wendy Calaway, assistant professor of criminal justice, UC Blue Ash College
  • Whitney Gaskins, assistant dean and assistant professor - Center for Inclusive Excellence & Community Engagement, College of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Antonio Islas-Munoz, assistant professor of practice, head of transportation design, College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning


November 14, 2017

Jeffrey Blevins, associate professor and chair of the Department of Journalism in the College of Arts and Sciences, “Manufacturing Truth: The Political Economy of Fake News, Bots and Double-Speak.”


  • James Canfield, assistant professor of social work, College of Allied Health Sciences
  • Leland Person, Professor of Communication and Department Head in the McMicken College of Arts and Sciences; and
  • Tina Stanton-Chapman, Associate Director for Early Childhood Education, College of Education, Criminal Justice and Human Servic



September 20, 2016

John McNay, professor of history and chair of the Department of History, Philosophy and Political Science at UC Blue Ash College, “I would rather have peace than be president"


  • Stephen Depoe - Professor of Communication and Department Head, McMicken College of Arts and Sciences
  • Emily Houh - Gustavus Henry Wald Professor of the Law and Contracts, College of Law
  • Bert Lockwood - Distinguished Service Professor and Director of the renowned Urban Morgan Institute for Human Rights, College of Law
  • Gregory Loving - Associate Professor of Philosophy and Chair of the Social Sciences Department, UC Clermont College


March 29, 2016

Heidi L. Maibom, Professor of Philosophy, McMicken College of Arts and Sciences, "Know Others to Know Thyself: Misuses of Taking Another's Perspective"


  • Cal Adler - Professor and Vice-Chair for Clinical Research in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience in the College of Medicine.
  • Valerie Grey Hardcastle - Professor of Philosophy, Psychology, and Psychiatry & Behavioral Neuroscience in the McMicken College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Ethan Katz - Assistant Professor of History in the McMicken College of Arts and Sciences



March 26, 2015

Dr. Jeffrey Whitsett, Professor of Pediatrics, Co-director of Neonatology, Perinatal and Pulmonary Biology, and Executive Director of the Perinatal Institute at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, “The Impact of the Acceleration of Transforming Technologies in Medicine and the Biological Sciences”


  • Karen Bankston - Associate Dean of the College of Nursing,
  • James Clark - Professor and Director of the School of Social Work in the College of Allied Health Sciences
  • Joseph Tomain - Dean Emeritus of the College of Law