
| ABI/INFORM Complete 1971 - present |
| ABI/INFORM Complete is comprised of full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Archive. This combination of products, covering different aspects of business information, covers scholarly research, businesses traditions and trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information. Some periodicals go back as far as 1912. |
| Available Online |
| Accounting and Tax Database 1991 - present |
| Accounting & Tax database includes abstracts or full-text for over 2,000 titles, as well as IASB, AICPA, and FASB accounting standards. It is national and international in scope, providing information on accounting policies and standards, state and national legislation, corporate and individual taxation, compensation and pension plans, and corporate financial management. ProQuest Accounting & Tax is the exclusive source for the International Accounting Standards |
| Available Online |
| Accounting Literature" on Lexis/Nexis (Current and retrospective) current and retrospective |
| To access this library of accounting literature, click on "Business" Then click on "Accounting". This library includes the following: Accountant's Liability, Accounting and Auditing Enforcement Release, Accounting Series Releases, Accounting Technology, Accounting Today, AICPA Accounting and Auditing Publications, AICPA Publications, Controllers Report (IOMA), FRR SEC Financial Reporting Release, Journal of Business Strategy, Miller GAAP Guide, Miller GAAS Guide, Miller Government GAAP Guide, Miller GAAP Emerging Issues Task Force, Miller European Accounting Guide, Miller GAAP- not for profit organization audit, OMB Literature, Practical AccountantStaff Accounting Bulletin. |
| Available Online |
| Accounting Research Manager (ARM) 1963 - present |
| Accounting Research Manger from CCH covers accounting standards including FASB, AICPA, EITF and IASB. AICPA publications includes: Statement of Position, Audit and Accounting Guides, Practice Bulletins, Accounting Interpretations, Issues Papers and Related proposal-stage literature. It also covers SEC content including Regulations S-X, S-K, forms 10-k, 10-q, SAB's, Sarbanes-Oxley, PCAOB, Regulation S-B.. ARM also includes IASB materials. Also covers Auditing standards including: AICPA, PCAOB, and OMB. Government includes: GASB, GAO and OMB. |
| Available Online |
| ACM Digital Library |
| Full-text articles from ACM journals, magazines and conference proceedings. Most full-text go back to volume 1 of the publication. Subjects include: Artificial Intelligence, Computer Simulation, Computer Systems, Database Systems, Design Automation, Information Systems, Mathematical Software, Networking, Networks, Programming Languages, and Software Engineering. |
| Available Online |
| Ad*Access |
| The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University. |
| Available Online |
| Advertising Archives: Historical & Current Print Ads |
| The Advertising Archives was established in 1990 by Larry and Suzanne Viner and is the largest and most comprehensive resource of its kind in Europe. The collection comprises over 1 million catalogued images – 50,000 of which are searchable online. This includes press and TV advertising, magazine covers, cinema posters, ephemera, and comics and chidren's annuals. |
| Available Online |
| American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries Current |
| Covers over 190 countries and 1,200 industries. U.S. companies listed have a substantial investment in overseas operations — wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch. Search by one or multiple criteria. Download your list to Excel. |
| Available Online |
| American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library |
| Compiled by the library of Congress, American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. The database contains over 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections. |
| Available Online |
| Associations Unlimited Current |
| Information about associations and professional societies, listings for nonprofit membership organizations of U.S. national, regional, state, and local, or international scope; in addition to 144,000 listings of the encyclopedia of associations (EA) series, nearly 300,000 additional nonprofit organizations have been added to this database. |
| Available Online |
| Banking Information Source |
| Banking Information Source is a database covering more than 250 of the most important publications that provide information on the financial services industry. The coverage includes not only leading journals and newspapers but also such sources as industry newsletters, School of Bank Marketing Papers, Stonier theses, and the Bank Marketing Associations Golden Coin Awards competition entries. ASCII full-text articles are available for about 170 publications cited in Banking Information Source. For some publications, full-text coverage goes back as far as 1991. Full-image coverage dates from 1987 and is available for more than 120 publications. Text+GraphicsT articles began in 1995 and are available for more than 110 publications. |
| Available Online |
| Best Practices Database Current |
| The full-text database contains "best practices" which are documented strategies and tactics employed by highly admired companies. The profiled practices have been implemented and honed to help place their practitioners as the most admired, the most profitable, and the keenest competitors in business. This information is gathered from a variety of sources. For the most part, this information is based on interviews, surveys, and other mechanisms of "primary" research - information that is simply not available in the public sector. Other database documents are distilled insights from secondary research -- books, magazines, libraries, Internet, and other public-domain resources. The subject areas currently covered are Business Operations, Customer Service, Human Resources, Knowledge Management, Mergers & Acquisitions and Sales & Marketing. |
| Available Online |
| Bloomberg Terminal Current & Retrospective |
| Bloomberg is a dedicated computer terminal for accessing financial data electronically. It seamlessly integrates real-time and historical information on about 5 million bonds, equities, commodities, currencies and funds. It also comprises data on almost every publicly traded company and biographies of more than 1 million people. |
| Available Online |
| BNA's Human Resource Library |
| This full-text database is designed to provide human resource researchers with a comprehensive library of HR policy guidance, sample and model policies, full text of statutes and regulations, and other related sources of information. |
| Available Online |
| BNA's Labor and Employment Law Library |
| A very comprehensive full-text library dealing with Labor-management relations, Wages and hours, Individual employment rights, Labor arbitration, Fair employment practices, Disabilities Law, State labor and employment laws. It also includes "Collective Bargaining Negotiations and Contracts. |
| Available Online |
| Books in Print |
| Includes Reviews. |
| Available Online |
| Business and Company Resource Center with PROMT |
| Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Predicast's PROMT database is fully integrated in this database. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. |
| Available Online |
| Business and Industry 1994 - 6/30/2006 |
| Over 500 full-text trade and industry journals covering 190 countries. |
| Available Online |
| Business Dissertations On Proquest 1997 - presentr |
| Several thousand business dissertations are available in full-text on Proquest Dissertations and Thesis. |
| Available Online |
| Business Forms on File Current |
| Organized by subject, this volume contains the forms most frequently used in business. Among the areas covered are: Accounting and Finance, Government aid programs, Legal, Personnel, Government procurement programs, and Real Estate. |
| Available Online |
| Business Insights |
| Market research reports in the areas of: eCommerce/Technology, Financial Services, Healthcare, Consumer Goods, Energy and Human Resources. Business Insight products provide insights into each of these sectors and the research carried out for each report is written in-house and derived from extensive primary research. The research includes the opinions of industry experts on the subject matter of the report (the average number of interviews is in excess of 100 per title). These reports offer insight into how the market stands, insights to where it is headed and include tables and case studies to support these findings. |
| Available Online |
| Business Publication Advertising Source Current |
| Information on circulation, advertising rates, newspapers, magazines, computer and community publications, radio and television and other media. The library subscribes to the following:Business Publication Advertising Source, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source and TV and Cable Source. |
| Available Online |
| Business Source Complete 1886 - present |
| Business database with full text for over 3,600 serials, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. |
| Available Online |
| Capital Changes Reporter 1950 - present |
| Covers complete capital change histories of over 58,000 corporations and spans 100 years. Searching and browsing is available in different areas such as Capital Changes Report Summary or Corporate Capital Histories. Histories are provided that give a chronology of events such as incorporation, mergers and stock dividends |
| Available Online |
| Catalog of U.S. government publications 1994 - present |
| The catalog provides an index to print and electronic publications created by Federal agencies. When available, links are provided to the full-text of these publications. |
| Available Online |
| CCH International Tax Planning Library |
| Outlines the tax systems operating in 42 countries and answers the key tax issues that arise when planning the development and growth of a corporations foreign business. |
| Available Online |
| CCH Internet Research Library (Securities Banking and Trade Regulation |
| The CCH Internet Research Library includes the following components: Securities: Federal Securities Law Reports; Blue Sky Law Reports; Securities Library. Federal Banking Law: Secured Transactions Guide; Consumer Credit Guide; Federal Banking Law Library. Capital Changes. Trade Law (Including Trade Regulations Reporter with trade cases, FTC complaints, etc.). Government Contracts Reports; FAR Archives; Government Contracts Library. |
| Available Online |
| CCH Internet Research Network (Human Resources and Labor Law) |
| Covers practitioner and legal aspects of human resource management, payroll, pension/benefits, employment law, safety, OSHA & workers compensation, health law, & food & drug. |
| Available Online |
| CCH Internet Tax Research Network |
| A Comprehensive Library of federal and state tax materials. The following is a partial list of what is available: Standard Federal Tax Reporter, Federal Estate & Gift Tax Reporter, Federal Excise Tax Reporter, Tax Treaties Reporter, Internal Revenue Code, and Federal Tax Regulations. The following cases are also available: U.S.Tax Cases 1913-Present, TC Regulars Decisions 1935-Present, TC Memoranda 1941-Present, Board of Tax Appeals from 1924-Present, Letter Rulings, Legislative Documents and Treaties, IRS Publications, Tax Rates and Tables. The State Libraries include the following: All State Tax Reporter, Multistate Corporate Income Tax, And Multistate Sales and Use Tax. Also included are: Business Entity Planning and Financial and Estate Planning. |
| Available Online |
| Centre for Economic Policy Research: Discussion Papers 1999 - present |
| The Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) is a non-profit, non-partisan network of nearly 600 of the worlds top academic economists. The areas of focus for these discussion papers are in: Financial Economics; Industrial Organization; International Macroeconomics; International Trade; Labour Economics; Public Policy; and Transition Economics. |
| Available Online |
| China Data Online varies on availability of individual statistics |
| China Data Online is a comprehensive database and web site focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China. |
| Available Online |
| Choices 3 (Simmons Study of Markets and Media). Current |
| Measures product and brand usage and media exposure and gives demographic characteristics and media usage for users of specific products. |
| Langsam CD Rom |
| CIAO Full Text; 1991 - present |
| Columbia International Affairs Online CIAO is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material on a regular schedule. Working papers are augmented every month, as are conference proceedings, policy briefs and economic indicators. Links and resources, the schedule of events and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available. |
| Available Online |
| Cincinnati Corporation Histories |
| This is a bibliography, some with full-text, of books, periodical articles, thesis and dissertations, web literature and company literature. The citations were selected for their heavy emphasis on the company's history. Although considerable effort has been given to making this a comprehensive list, the author would appreciate knowing of any additional materials in this area, please send comments to: Wahib Nasrallah. Book call numbers are for the University of Cincinnati Langsam Library unless otherwise indicated. |
| Available Online |
| Cincinnati Executive Officers Biography |
| This is an index with links to full-text biographies of Cincinnati business leaders past and present. The biographies are from books, journal articles, web sites, company literature, and newspapers. Some of the online sources listed may be available only to UC students, faculty and staff. |
| Available Online |
| Compustat 20 years |
| Compustat is a database of financial, statistical, and marketing information. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 7500 publicly held companies. SPC offers several Compustat files that are available in both annual and quarterly formats. The industrial annual formats offer both historical and restated data. The industrial quarterly formats offer restated data as reported by the company. The restated data allows analysts to compare current and prior years' results on a comparable basis and determine financial trends and growth rates. For most companies, annual and quarterly data is available for a maximum of 20 years and 48 quarters (Compustat User's Guide p.1). Compustat files also contain information on aggregates, industry segments, banks, market prices, dividends, and earnings. |
| Available Online |
| Computer and Information Systems Abstracts 1981 - present |
| Provides fast, organized access to all of them, including hard-to-find conference literature.This database provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications around the world. From its inception as one of the earliest databases in the field, Computer and Information Systems Abstracts has proven itself an essential resource. This database provides international coverage with the monitoring of over 3,000 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications. |
| Available Online |
| Computer Database 1980 - present |
| Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. |
| Available Online |
| Computers & Applied Sciences Complete |
| Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies. |
| Available Online |
| Conference Board. Business Knowledge Research |
| A searchable database of full-text research reports on issues in business management and US and global economics. Research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, CRM and more. Economics material includes US and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions. Full-text coverage from 1995 to date. |
| Available Online |
| Conference Board. Consumer Research Center (Consult Langsam Info Commons Desk for online access) current and historical |
| Includes the Board's consumer confidence survey--current and historical, CEO confidence survey, consumer spending trends, consumer market guide, consumer internet barometer, demographioc data, and special surveys. |
| Available Online |
| Consumer Magazine Advertising Source Current |
| Information on circulation, advertising rates, newspapers, magazines, computer and community publications, radio and television and other media. The library subscribes to the following:Business Publication Advertising Source, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source and TV and Cable Source. |
| Available Online |
| Convergence Quarterly |
| An incisive, web-based journal of insight and opinion about the global convergence of information processing, communications, and media technologies. Each quarterly issue delivers thoughtful analysis and commentary on important convergence-related trends, issues, and alliances. It's your BEST source for keeping focused on all the key market drivers, principal players, new products, emerging technologies, and critical infrastructure issues. |
| Available Online |
| Corporate Affiliations Current |
| For over 30 years, the Directory of Corporate Affiliations (DCA) has been the single, most trusted guide to corporate families in the U.S. and worldwide. This remarkable resource provides instant insight into more than 174,000 parents companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions - all the way down to the seventh level of reporting relationships. |
| Available Online |
| COUNTY AND CITY DATA BOOK. 1994 - present |
| Data extracted from the book by the same title. |
| Langsam CD Rom |
| CRCnetBASE 1986 - Present |
| CRCnetBASE provides full text access to over 1,000 engineering, science, medical, and information technology reference books from CRC Press . The service consists of the following subject databases: CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, CivlEngineeringnetBASE, ElectricalEngineeringnetBASE, MechanicalEngineeringnetBASE, TelecommunicationsnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, InfoSECURITYnetBASE, ITknowledgenetBASE, LawEnforecementnetBASE, MATERIALSnetBASE, NeurosciencenetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NANOnetBASE, PHARMACEUTICALnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, PlantSCIENCEnetBASE and STATSnetBASE New books are added monthly. |
| Available Online |
| CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices) Current |
| The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) maintains the most comprehensive collection of standard and derived security data available for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq Stock Market. CRSP is a research center at the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business, and maintains historical data spanning from December 1925 to the present. CRSP's trademark of unique issue identifiers tracks a continuous history of securities, providing a seamless time-series examination of the issue's history. CRSP's unparalleled accuracy and dedication to excellence has made CRSP data a staple of academic and commercial research and data analysis throughout the world. |
| Available Online |
| Current Index to Statistics |
| The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from 111 core journals that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources. |
| Available Online |
| D&B International Million Dollar Database Current |
| D&B's International Million Dollar Database (IMDDI) includes information on over 1.6 million international companies. Find companies by country, SIC, total employees, legal status, annual US sales dollar equivalent, and more, plus identify up to four (4) executives on the world's largest entities. Search, lookup, report and download this information with just a few mouse clicks. |
| Available Online |
| D&B Million Dollar Database Current |
| The D&B Million Dollar Database covers all U.S. public and private companies and also the most significant segment of Canadian companies. The total number of companies in the database are over 14 million. You can search the database using over 30 different criteria. The database gives information on the parent and also the subsidiaries, divisions, branches and various locations. Most of the time, sales are given by branch or location i.e., you can find the sales of a particular Wendy's restaurant in a particular location. The database also gives biographical information on top management. If a company is part of a parent an icon next to the company identifies that. You can then go to the parent company and find a corporate tree with all other subsidiaries and family linkages. |
| Available Online |
| Datamonitor Current |
| Please see Marketline. Datamonitor has changed its name to Marketline. |
| Available Online |
| Direct Marketing List Source current |
| Information on circulation, advertising rates, newspapers, magazines, computer and community publications, radio and television and other media. The library subscribes to the following:Business Publication Advertising Source, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source and TV and Cable Source. |
| Available Online |
| DSI Data Services |
| Includes world statistics from UNIDO, IMF, OECD, EUROSTAT, & the German Statistical Office. |
| Available Online |
| ebrary (Business Books Online) |
| ebrary has over 5,000 business and economic academic books online. You can search by subject, author, title, or publisher. You can also download and print. In order to view the books, you need to download the ebrary reader. |
| Available Online |
| Econlit |
| The American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. It is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more. |
| Available Online |
| Economia y Negocios Early 1980's - present |
| EBSCOhost ECONOMIA Y NEGOCIOS is produced in Peru by ESAN (Escuela de Administraci�n de Negocios para Graduados), the oldest graduate school of business in the Spanish-speaking world. This Spanish language database, which focuses on business and economics, consists of more than 60,000 bibliographic records. Coverage dates back to the early 1980s and includes over 200 periodicals published in Latin America and Spain. |
| Available Online |
| Economic Census (U.S.) 1997 - present |
| The Economic Census profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level. Available online. Also: check the library catalog. |
| Available Online |
| Edgar Files (on the Web) 1994 - present |
| The Securities and Exchange Commission's official web site. Includes descriptive, statistical information, and EDGAR which includes company filings with the SEC. |
| Available Online |
| eMarketer. current |
| eMarketer contains two main segments, 1) Market research on E-Business, E-commerce, and Online Marketing. Each report combines eMarketer’s original analysis with aggregated data from leading market research firms, such as IDC, Gartner, Forrester, Yankee Group, government, non-profit, and academic sources. 2)The eStat portion of this database has statistics and graphs on Internet-related topics. Documents in the eStat Database are accessible by Basic and Advanced Search and browseable by subject and data (interactive chart). |
| Available Online |
| Environment Complete |
| Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from 1,200 domestic and international journals, as well as 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education. |
| Available Online |
| Europa World Plus |
| Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. |
| Available Online |
| Eurostat Statistics coverage varies |
| Includes general statistics, economy, finance, population, social conditions, industry, trade and services, transport, and regional statistics. |
| Available Online |
| EXECUCOMP (S&P) Current |
| Executive Compensation Reports - six reports that cover current, historic, and total compensation, executive options and compensation of industry peers and comprehensive and objective executive compensation data on the top officers of more than 2,300 companies. |
| Available Online |
| Factiva 1980 - present |
| Factiva's business information includes Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources from around the world. These sources provide current news, historical articles, local-language articles, and stock quotes. Factiva provides access to more than 900 non-English sources. Factiva provides access to key content in 22 languages from 118 countries not available on the free Web. Many of the full-text articles go back to 1980. |
| Available Online |
| FARS: Financial Accounting Research System Current |
| FARS (Financial Accounting Research System) from the FASB. Library of accounting literature includes: Original Pronouncement; Current statements (Including Interpretations, Technical Bulletins and Concept Statements); Current Text; EITF Abstracts and Implementation guidesAvailable in Langsam Library ReferenceConnect to UCLID |
| Langsam CD Rom |
| Faulkner Advisory on IT Studies Database Current |
| The Faulkner database of technology reports provides full-text access to over 1,000 reports about technology and technology companies. It deals with IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communication, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors. Report types include: technology tutorials, marketplace reports, implementation guides, face-off reports, timelines, comparison & selection guides, and profiles of products, services, and companies. |
| Available Online |
| Fed in Print: An Index to Federal Reserve Economic Research |
| Fed in Print - an index to Federal Reserve economic research. Available Online |
| Available Online |
| Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) database 1930 - present |
| The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) database contains financial data and history of all entities filing the Report Of Condition and Income (Call Report) and some savings institutions filing the OTS Thrift Financial Report (TFR). These entities include Commercial banks, savings banks, or savings and loans. FDIC files include structure data, financial time series data, complex derived integers data, ratio data, and merger history data. Available online |
| Available Online |
| FEDSTATS Current |
| A government produced index to statistics of 70 federal agencies' statistics on the web. |
| Available Online |
| Financial Times May 31,1996 to present |
| European financial newspaper known for its in-depth reporting on European company and economic news, as well as its European perspective on global business. |
| Available Online |
| Foreign Exchange Rates 1971 - present |
| The WRDS FX database is based upon the Federal Reserve Board's H.10 release and contains Foreign Exchange (FX) rates for over 30 world currencies and trade-weighted indices. WRDS carries all of these FX rates in currency units per U.S. dollar (e.g. yen/$) and a few are also available in "inverted form" (e.g. $/pound). Some country data goes back as far as 1971. Available online. |
| Available Online |
| Foreign Firms Operating in the United States Current |
| Non U.S. Companies (foreign firms) listed have substantial investment within the United States. Covers over 85 countries. You can search by one or multiple criteria and download the result to Excel. |
| Available Online |
| FRANCIS |
| A multilingual, multidisciplinary database indexing books and journal articles in the humanities (63%), social sciences (33%), and economics (4%). It is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Updated monthly, FRANCIS covers 1984 to the present, with more than <872,000> records. |
| Available Online |
| Freedonia Focus Market Research Reports |
| Freedonia Focus reports provide industry outlook for over 350 industries. Each Freedonia Focus provides access to a wealth of industry insights and analysis including: market size, product segmentation, market segmentation, product forecasts, industry composition, market leaders, and business trends. |
| Available Online |
| Gartner Current |
| Gartner has the most comprehensive body of global research that reports on and analyzes the technologies that drive business and organizational success. The more than 200 research topics include customer relationship management (CRM), business-to-business e-commerce, supply chain management, wireless, emerging technologies, security, IT services, e-business, and IT spending and strategies. |
| Available Online |
| General Business File ASAP Full Text |
| Access to articles from over 500 full text journals in all areas of business. Includes INVESTEXT which covers Wall Street Research Reports. |
| Available Online |
| Global Development Finance (GDF) Online 1970 - present |
| Global Development Finance Database includes: Country and Summary Tables. The summary tables contain country data for four indicators and regional as well as income group aggregates showing time series in table and chart format. The indicators covered are: external debt, aggregate net resource flow (long term), net flows and transfers on debt, net financial flows from multilateral institutions, international bond issues, new and outstanding. |
| Available Online |
| Global Insight (On the Web) 1960 - present |
| Global Insight includes Economic and financial time series going back to the 60's in the following areas: U.S. and Canadian Equities, Financial market indices, Commodities, Money Markets and Fixed Income, International economics, Country data, IMF statistics, OECD Statistics, U.S. Economic data, Economic Indicators, U.S. Prices, Flow of Funds, and U.S. Regional Data. The databse is updated daily. |
| Available Online |
| Global Insight (On WRDS) |
| Global Insight database provides data on macroeconomic variables such as national income accounts, balance of payments, foreign debt, exchange rates, money supply and employment - among other national level categories. It also provides data on the IMF series and the OCDE series. |
| Available Online |
| Global Market Information Database |
| (Euromonitor) Includes sections on: Detailed market size data (for 330 consumer products in 49 countries, 1992-), Country marketing parameters (1000 types of data for 209 countries, 1977-), Marketing forecast data (330 products, demographics, to 2010), Brand and company information (100,000 brands from 12,000 companies in 1000 product sectors), Business information sources (over 29,000), Marketing profiles (6000 profiles for UK, USA, France, and Germany based on 156 consumer and industrial product sectors), and Full text market analysis (100 Euromonitor market research reports, including Strategy 2000 reports, International market intelligence reports, Market direction reports, and Emerging market reports). |
| Available Online |
| Gongwer News Service |
| Gongwer News Service provides daily coverage of issues in and around Ohio's government and political systems. Gongwer's daily Ohio Report provides coverage of every bill in the General Assembly and closely tracks the activities of the executive and judicial branches. Gongwer provides a suite of products to monitor and track political and policy developments. |
| Available Online |
| GrantSelect |
| GrantSelect is the online version of the GRANTS Database, produced by The Oryx Press, containing over 10,000 funding opportunities provided by over 3,400 sponsoring organizations. |
| Available Online |
| Historical Statistics of the United States Colonial Times to 2000 |
| Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online allows users to access data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. It is the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. The Millennial edition is a revised, updated, and expanded version of the previous three editions of HSUS. |
| Available Online |
| Hoover's Online Current |
| Hoover's Online is a database of public and private company reports and Industry studies. Search by: Company name, Ticker symbol, Keyword Person's last name. UC has access also to the Members Only sections which includes the Hoovers in-depth Company Profiles where you will find sales leads, business contacts, investment ideas, financial information and competitive intelligence information including a list of competitiors. |
| Available Online |
| Human Resources Abstracts 1975 - present |
| A quarterly abstracting service covering human, social, and manpower areas. The arrangement is classified by broad subjects. Available in Langsam Library ReferenceConnect to UCLID |
| Langsam CD Rom |
| Human Resources Library (BNA) |
| This full-text database is designed to provide human resource researchers with a comprehensive library of HR policy guidance, sample and model policies, full text of statutes and regulations, and other related sources of information. |
| Available Online |
| I.B.E.S 1974- Present |
| The IBES database provided by Thomson Financial contains comprehensive global information on analyst estimates of earnings per share including both individual forecasts and consensus data. Analyst recommendations are available as well. In addition to earnings estimates data is available on a more limited basis for estimates of revenue, cash flow, FFO, EBITDA, target prices, long-term growth and more. |
| Available Online |
| IBISWorld Current |
| IBISWorld Industry Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries in all major U.S. industry sectors at the 5-digit level of NAICS . Reports are updated regularly, and contain: key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors, key factors, and industry outlook and forecast. |
| Available Online |
| ICON |
| Produced by ICON Group International, a publisher of global market research and business intelligence, ICON Global Business Intelligence provides more than 70,000 reports covering 25,000 companies in 2,000 industries in more than 200 countries. |
| Available Online |
| IEEE Xplore 1988 - present |
| Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users. |
| Available Online |
| Index to Current Urban Documents |
| The only regularly published guide to the reports and research that are generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada. It indexes over 2,400 documents providing a spectrum of access to local information. |
| Available Online |
| Info Tech Trends |
| Database covers market data on the information technology industry including computers, peripherals, software, storage, the Internet, and communications equipment. Details include sales and shipment forecasts, market share, installed base, and planned purchases. You can download data entries as Excel spreadsheets. |
| Available Online |
| INFORMS PubsOnLine |
| Full-text of journals published by INFORMS. Coverage starts in 1998. The journals are : Decision analysis; Information systems research; Interfaces; Journal of computing; Management Science; Manufacturing and service operations management; Marketing science; Mathematics of OR; Operations research; Organization science; and Transportation science. |
| Available Online |
| InfoSci-Online 2001 - present |
| InfoSci Online includes full-text books, journal articles, case studies, and proceedings from the Idea Group Publishing, Information Science Publishers, CyberTech Publishers, and IRM Press. InfoSci-Online covers research trends and developments in information science and technology such as IT management, end user computing, data mining, knowledge management, e-commerce, multimedia databases, telecommunications, and distance learning in the following areas: Business Management; Computer Science; Education Technologies; Electronic Commerce; Environmental IS; Healthcare Information Systems; Information Systems; Library Science; Multimedia Information Systems; Public Information Systems; Social Science and Technologies. |
| Available Online |
| Insurance Periodical Index 1965 - present |
| Insurance Periodicals Index (IPI), formerly produced by the NILS Publishing Co., Inc. in cooperation with the Insurance & Employee Benefits Division (IEBD) of the Special Libraries Association (SLA), indexes and abstracts over 200 of the most respected and widely-read insurance industry journals and magazines, including the Journal of Risk and Insurance, and the Journal of Risk and Uncertainty. |
| Available Online |
| International Abstracts in Operations Research 1989 - present |
| IAOR Online contains more than 45,000 abstracts, representing the print archive from 1989 onwards. IAOR is scanned from 180 OR/MS journals by contributing editors from 44 countries. IAOR publishes abstracts from journals worldwide and includes many, which are seldom covered elsewhere, thus providing a comprehensive synopsis of current operations research literature. The journal articles are classified in various ways such as, Process oriented, Application oriented, Technique oriented and Professionally oriented. |
| Available Online |
| International Financial Statistics (IMF) coverage varies |
| To access online, click on "World Statistics", then click on "IMF" , then click on "International Financial Statistics". The IFS reports, for most countries of the world, data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts and national accounts. Some data goes back as far as 1945. |
| Available Online |
| International Trade by Commodities Statistics (OECD) Varies by data set |
| The ITCS is a source of yearly statistical data on imports and exports in OECD countries, selected non OECD countries, as well as in the OECD main country groupings. It provides detailed data in value (thousands USD) and quantity by commodities and by partner countries. |
| Available Online |
| Investext Plus 1996 - present |
| Investext Plus is the premier financial research database available today. Search this database to find investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East. All company and industry reports are provided in full page PDF image. |
| Available Online |
| ISI Emerging Markets |
| ISI Emerging Markets delivers news, company and financial data direct from emerging markets to thousands of emerging markets specialists around the world--Home page. |
| Available Online |
| ITknowledgebase 1986 - Present |
| Includes information on computing and networking. Also known as Auerbach ITknowledgeBASE, it provides current and back issues of vital journals, essential reference books and over 10,000 articles. |
| Available Online |
| Journal Citation Reports |
| The Journal citation reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation using citation data drawn from over 8400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide in the areas of science, technology and the social sciences. |
| Available Online |
| JSTOR |
| Back files of scholarly journals. Starts with the journals' inception. |
| Available Online |
| Labor and Employment Law Library (BNA) |
| This full-text database is designed to provide human resource researchers with a comprehensive library of HR policy guidance, sample and model policies, full text of statutes and regulations, and other related sources of information. |
| Available Online |
| LABORDOC 1919 - present |
| The ILO library's catalogue and a major source of information on the world of work. Over 350,000 bibliographic records describing books, journal articles, reports and other publications (including ILO's) covering many work related issues. Some full texts included. Labordoc also provides an ever increasing number of links to online publications available on the Internet. Labordoc also includes thousands of references to journal articles, documents and hard-to-find material from countries around the world giving worldwide coverage to the world of work. |
| Available Online |
| Landsat 7 Satellite Image Server |
| The LANDSAT 7 satellite was launched in April of 1999. This satellite orbits the earth and captures digital snapshots from space. OhioLINK has purchased all Ohio based data captured by Landsat 7 since the first data sets were available, and maintains a standing order for new data as it is captured. A new 'snapshot' of the state is captured every 16 days. A complete 'snapshot' of Ohio is represented by nine Landsat 7 scenes that each represent ground cover approximately 115 miles wide by 106 miles long. Within each scene, nine different 'layers' are captured. (These 'layers' are actually different bands of the electromagnetic spectrum). These are available via FTP for expert users. Additionally these are processed at OhioLINK to create a variety of meaningful products viewable on the web for other academic users and the public. OhioLINK has an ongoing 'subscription' for this data, and will present the data on this web site within 5 days after it is captured by the satellite. |
| Available Online |
| Legal Collection 1965 - present |
| This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. |
| Available Online |
| LEXIS/NEXIS TRADITIONAL 1980 - present |
| LexisNexis(Traditional) is a legal and business database. Lexis contains: Full text primary sources, i.e. cases, statutes, and administrative materials and secondary sources, i.e. law reviews, ALR annotations. Nexis service contains full-text information sources from U.S. and overseas newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, wire services and broadcast transcripts. Abstract materials is available from more than 1000 information sources. Some of the information sources available on LexisNexis(Traditional) are: SEC filings, annual reports, accounting literature, disclosure, market share reporter, company news, country information and more... LexisNexis(Traditional) is an on-line service available free of charge for use of UC business students and faculty. Ask at the Reference Desk. Available online on Station #4 in Langsam ReferenceRestricted to Business Students Only. |
| Langsam CD Rom |
| LexisNexis Academic |
| LexisNexis Academic. This service provides Internet access to some of the most popular files of LexisNexis with easy, forms-based searching. There are nearly 20 basic libraries including: General News, Company News Industry & Market News, Company Financial Information Country Profiles, State Profiles, Biographical Information, Reference & Directories Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, Accounting, Auditing & Tax -- Many of the sources available on the traditional plan with some limitations on searching capabilities. |
| Available Online |
| LexisNexis Congressional |
| Full text of congressional reports, documents, prints, bills and the Congressional Record. Prepared statements and selected question & answer transcripts. Public laws and the United States Code Service . The Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations. Biographical and financial information and voting records and more� |
| Available Online |
| LexisNexis Statistical |
| Search an index to over 100,000 statistical publications. Search the most popular U.S. government reference book, Statistical Abstract, Jump to other Web sites with useful information about statistics. |
| Available Online |
| Making of the Modern World 1450 - 1850 |
| Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850 provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport. |
| Available Online |
| Marcive Web Docs 1976 - present |
| Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. |
| Available Online |
| Marketline Current |
| Marketline provides 10,000+ global company reports. Each includes the following: Company & Business Description, History, Key Employees, Products & Services, Competitors, Company View , Locations & Subsidiaries. Marketline also provides 3,000 industry profiles. Each includes: Overview & Size, Segmentation, SWOT Analysis, Competitive Landscape, Leading Companies, Definitions & Key Terms, Forecasts. Marketline also provides 100 country reports. Each includes: A description of the country's economic performance and GDP, An assessment of the potential for development, Detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment. |
| Available Online |
| MarketResearch.Com |
| MarketResearch.com Academic presents full-text market research reports. Two kinds of reports are available, full-blown “market research reports” and "Market Looks", a 10-15 page data and graphics report on various markets. Topics range from beverages to food, and from healthcare to telecommunications. |
| Available Online |
| Materials Business File 1985 - present |
| Materials Business File focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. Citations for this database are pulled from 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books indexed by expert editors from Materials Information. Begun in 1985, Materials Business File is the database equivalent of the bulletins Steels Alert, Polymers/Ceramics/Composites Alert and Nonferrous Metals Alert. Together they cover new technologies, new materials and other industry developments reported in the press. |
| Available Online |
| MediaMark Research (MRI+) Current |
| First time users need to register for a free account. Once registered an email address and password selected by the user is needed for access. Mediamark Research Inc. is a leading provider of magazine audience data to the advertising and marketing communities. This study surveys the demographics, product usage and media exposure of all persons aged 18 and over in the contiguous 48 states. After you choose a report such as Apparel/Accessories, Automotive, Automotive Aftermarket, Automotive Miscellaneous, Beverages etc.. you will get demographic and media variables and population estimates. |
| Available Online |
| Mergent BondViewer |
| Mergent's BondViewer covers US taxable and municipal fixed income and evaluation data. From pre-sale through defeasance, it includes both issuer and bond level terms and condition data, US taxable bonds, municipal bonds and retail notes. Currently contains information on over 1.7 million municipal securities and over 179,000 US taxable securities (includes 16,000+ retail notes). |
| Available Online |
| MERGENT Corporate Bonds Portraits Current |
| Each Corporate Bond Portrait contains: complete terms and conditions for the bond, detailed annual and quarterly financial of the issuer. Detailed industry and peer group analysis. Complete credit ratings with six-year history. MERGENT's proprietary rating. Short business description. Insider buys/sales and institutional holdings. Peer group debt sales summary. Unique Features of Corporate Bond Portraits include: MERGENT's coverage of over 10,000 U.S. firms and 40,000 bonds. Both issue-specific indicative data and issuer-specific financial analysis in one report. Thorough analysis of each firm relative to firms with similar ratings, as well as to its industry group. Time series analysis of each firm's key accounting ratios to highlight trends in the firm's credit performance. Multiple perspectives on a bond's valuation and prospects. |
| Available Online |
| Mergent Equity Portraits Current |
| MERGENT Equity Portraits combines MERGENT's database of fundamental company information with stock price, volume and other data to paint a detailed picture of over 10,000 U.S. firms. Each portrait features a complete analysis of the firm's financial health, in-depth industry analysis and text commentary to provide perspective on the firm both in absolute terms, as well as relative to industry peers. Each Equity Portrait Contains: historical stock price and volume data; detailed annual and quarterly financial data; detailed industry and segment analysis; text discussion of the firm's recent results and its future prospects; short business description; review of firm's investment potential; insider buys/sales and institutional holdings and Real-time news stories. Unique Features of Equity Portraits include: MERGENT's data with coverage of over 10,000 U.S. firms; analysis of a firm's prospects. A firm's outlook may be "weak", "relatively weak", "stable", "relatively improving" or "improving"; textual descriptions of recent results; textual descriptions of forecast information; in-depth analysis available in Industry Overview, Rankings and Watch Signal sections; multiple perspective on a firm's valuation and prospects. |
| Available Online |
| Mergent EventsData-U.S. Corporate Dividends. Current |
| Provides ten years of information on over 64,000 dividend-paying stocks and mutual funds, as well as ADRs, GDR's, and their underlying foreign shares. Features include indicated annual dividend calculations, dividend distributions and capital gains as well as capital changes such as splits, stock dividends, rights and spin-offs. Payments classifications include taxable, approximate, extra, and many others. |
| Available Online |
| Mergent Horizon current |
| Mergent Horizon provides information on 6,200 companies in total, with enhanced product-level detail for 3,700 companies in the Healthcare, Technology, Media and Finance sectors. You can Identify companies by entering a product or trade name. You can Highlight the relationships between a company's major customers, suppliers and partners. You can also Analyze data for sector aggregates or averages, as well as for individual companies. You can also Screen companies with hundreds of quantitative and qualitative fields and custom formulas. You can produce reports including Company Profiles, Competitors by Product, and Drug/Medical Device. |
| Available Online |
| Mergent Industry Reports Current |
| Mergent Industry Reports provide regional coverage for North America and Asia-Pacific. Each report gives a summary and full analysis for the current environment, an industry profile, and market trends and outlook. The reports also include country analysis for these industries. |
| Available Online |
| Mergent Online (Moody's) Current |
| The following services are available from Mergent online: Company data, Company data archive, International company data, International company data archive, U.S. & International Annual reports, Industry reports, Equity reports, Corporate Bond Portraits, and Expanded long-term debt. |
| Available Online |
| Mintel Market Research Reports current |
| Market research reports for U.S. and international. Reports cover a variety of sectors including beauty and personal, health and medical, electronic, consumer goods, lifestyles, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and future and forecasts. Users will need to click on "I Agree" with the "Conditions of use" statement - each time they enter the database, and to establish and login into a profile with a UC e-mail address. |
| Available Online |
| Moody's Manuals 1909 - present |
| These are image files of the various manuals such as Banking, Industrial, Transportation, etc... going back to 1909. Each manual provides company information in the following areas: historical background, current activities, divisions and subsidiaries, businesses and properties owned, officers and directors, seven year income statements and balance sheets, financial and operating ratios, summary of each class of stocks and bonds, text of letter to stockholders, and excerpts from annual reports. |
| Available Online |
| Morningstar Online Current |
| Performance statistics, written fund analyses, and analytical tools of over 3,500 funds. Graphing of funds over a period of time is fairly easy. Searching the entire database for funds that meet your specifications is also possible. The standard Morningstar analytical tools, star ratings, investment style-box coordinates, and potential capital gain exposure are part of the service. |
| Available Online |
| National Bureau of Economic Research Full Text; 1994 - present |
| Working papers of the NBER |
| Available Online |
| National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) on STAT-USA |
| NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) provides access to Country Commercial Guides, Market Research reports, Best Market reports. Produced by the Department of Commerce. It contains textual and numeric information from 15 different government agencies. Information includes export/import data, energy statistics, exchange rates, demographic and economic statistics for foreign countries and marketing research reports. NTDB also contains full text of the current U.S. Industrial Outlook, World Factbook, and the Global Trade Directory. |
| Available Online |
| NBER Working Papers 1994 - present |
| NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Nearly 500 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals. |
| Available Online |
| NetLibrary Full Text |
| Books available to browse, view and check out online. |
| Available Online |
| New York Public Library Picture Collection Online |
| A collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923. |
| Available Online |
| NEWSDEX |
| Newsdex is an index to newspaper articles pertaining to Cincinnati and Hamilton County. Selected coverage began in 1811 and full coverage began in 1990. Newsdex indexes the Cincinnati Enquirer, Cincinnati Post, Cincinnati Herald, Cincinnati Magazine, Business Courier, and the Downtowner. |
| Available Online |
| Newspaper Abstracts 1989 - present |
| see entry under new title: ProQuest Newspapers. |
| Available Online |
| Newspaper Advertising Source Current |
| Information on circulation, advertising rates, newspapers, magazines, computer and community publications, radio and television and other media. The library subscribes to the following:Business Publication Advertising Source, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source and TV and Cable Source. |
| Available Online |
| NYPL Digital Gallery |
| The New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of the New York Public Library, including illuminat |