Article Databases / Indexes
Business & Economics Article Databases / Indexes
- Factiva (online)
Factiva's business information includes Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires and The Wall Street Journal, plus more than 8,000 other sources from around the world. These sources provide current news, historical articles, local-language articles, and stock quotes. Factiva provides access to more than 900 non-English sources. Factiva provides access to key content in 22 languages from 118 countries not available on the free Web. Many of the full-text articles go back to 1980.News Article Databases / Indexes
- America's Newspapers (online)
America's Newspapers is a collection of full-text newspapers available online, including 17 Ohio newspapers, such as the Plain Dealer (Cleveland), Columbus Dispatch, Dayton Daily News, and the Blade (Toledo). Content includes local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.- LexisNexis Academic (online)
LexisNexis Academic. This service provides Internet access to some of the most popular files of LexisNexis with easy, forms-based searching. There are nearly 20 basic libraries including: General News, Company News Industry & Market News, Company Financial Information Country Profiles, State Profiles, Biographical Information, Reference & Directories Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, Accounting, Auditing & Tax -- Many of the sources available on the traditional plan with some limitations on searching capabilities.- New York Times 1851-2005 (Historical) (online)
The New York Times (1851-2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Newsdex (online)
Newsdex is an index to newspaper articles pertaining to Cincinnati and Hamilton County. Selected coverage began in 1811 and full coverage began in 1990. Newsdex indexes the Cincinnati Enquirer, Cincinnati Post, Cincinnati Herald, Cincinnati Magazine, Business Courier, and the Downtowner.- Newspaper Source (online)
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 47 national and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 390 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided for major news networks such as CNN, NPR, Fox and MSNBC. Full text articles for major newspapers include: Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, and The Times (United Kingdom),
- Proquest Newspapers (online)
Full-text and abstracts of articles published from 1989 to the present in over 40 U.S. newspapers including the Cincinnati Enquirer, the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Television News Archive, Vanderbilt University (online)
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.- World News Connection (online)
World News Connection (WNC) is an online news service, only accessible via the World Wide Web, that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources, WNC provides you with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. The information is obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. New information is entered into WNC every government business day. Generally, new information is available within 48-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast.Sociology Article Databases / Indexes
- Ethnic NewsWatch (online)
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America, some dating back to 1985.- SIRS Researcher on the Web (online)
SIRS Knowledge Source™ is an online resource that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases -- SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, and SIRS Renaissance via one graphical interface.
Web Sites
- The Activist - University of Cincinnati, Raymond Walters College
- The BBC
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers - Library of Congress
- Cincinnati Enquirer
- Cincinnati News - WCPO
- Cincinnati News - WKRC
- Cincinnati News - WLWT
- Cincinnati News - WXIX
- Google News
- Internet Public Library: Online Newspapers
- National Public Radio
- The News Record - University of Cincinnati
- Pandia Newsfinder
A metasearch engine for finding recent articles in major news sites such as the BBC and the Washington Post.
Additional Newspaper Web Sites from University of Cincinnati Libraries
This page was last modified on 09/24/2009 by Stephena Harmony.